ABOUT ME

Jamel Hendley: A Journey Through Words and Resilience

From Global Travels to Battling Lupus: A Writer’s Tale of Resilience and Renewal

Jamel Hendley/Greenviool
3 min readJan 5, 2024

--

Me

Introduction:

Hello, I’m Jamel Hendley, also known as Greeviool. Born under the Georgian sky on February 8, 1980, my journey started with a flight to Okinawa just a day later, setting the tone for a life marked by movement and change. As the son of a military man, I’ve experienced a world of cultures, from Japan to Greenland, and countless states within the U.S., each leaving its indelible mark on my soul.

Early Influences and Inspiration:

My love for the written word blossomed early, amidst the backdrop of global travels. At 12, I discovered poetry and short fiction, vehicles that carried my emotions - joy, anger, sorrow. A school poetry contest in Germany, won with verses about a transcendent young love, rewarded me and my classmates with a pizza party - an early taste of sharing my voice with the world.

Educational and Professional Path

After high school, which I completed a year early, I ventured into computer graphics and arts in college. However, life had other plans, and I soon found myself…

--

--

Jamel Hendley/Greenviool

Hi all, I'm Jamel I write about all types of things from resilience to dogs. I write whatever comes to mind. Please follow me greenviool.medium.com/subscribe.